All Glory and Honor

Passion 2010. Wow. I can’t believe it is only the second day of this conference and we still have two more to go.

The theme this year is Awaken. Louie Giglio walked us through Lazarus’ story in John 11.  

Die to whatever the world tells us to do and awaken to Jesus. Die to GLORIFY His name.

Jesus moves the stone to awaken Lazarus from the dead. He is not afraid of the smell of rotting flesh, of our fears, our struggles, our sin. Jesus is not afraid of our humanity. He frees us from it as long as we choose to whole heartedly die to our worldly selves and live for him. We are apart of a bigger pictures. Something greater than us is telling a better story.

If anyone serves me he must follow me, and where I am, there will be my servant also. If anyone serves me the Father will honor him  John 12:25-26

This morning Beth Moore took us through Hebrews 13.

We are here to do some good.

And God equips us for every encounter we have in life. Every hardship and every celebration.

He Prepares

He Adjusts

He Repairs

He Fills

This is how he equips us to face the hard things. We will always be prepared

This evening Francis Chan taught us that we can have a new start. We just have to repent. The challenge is that our nature needs to change to truly be free from our sin. Instead of being a slave to sin we need to be a slave for righteousness.

But this is the one to whom I look: he who is humble  and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word. Isaiah 66:2

If we are humble and tremble at God’s word our nature can be transformed from not just a human being but a servant for Christ.

While the message and the worship were great at the main sessions. I’d been looking forward to seeing Hillsong United lead us in an extra late night service.

It was unbelievable! They are some of the greatest song writers in the Church right now so I knew it would be pretty awesome. But I don’t think I was fully prepared to experience tonight.

It was so beautiful. There were 15,000 people with their hands raised singing to our amazing God. The last song we sang was With Everything There is a simple melody at the end that everyone sings on the syllable “Oh”

Everyone in this worship place was singing to Heaven. I began to wonder what it must be like to hear thousands and thousands of college students singing to the glory and honor of our Savior in Heaven.Looking around at the hands raised and the people shouting praises to God, I bet all the angels were singing with us and God was greatly glorified. I would have loved to be there. It was probably ten million times better than it was here on Earth, and it was pretty amazing in that arena. 

Words do not do justice to the glorious sound of the end of this day. It was definitely one of those moments that has been imprinted on my heart forever.   

I can’t believe we have another full day and a half left of Passion 2010! Please pray for us as we continue on this journey to awaken to the beauty, grace, love, and might of the God we live for.

 

Photo by Louie Giglio

These are just some of my thoughts and notes. If you would like to watch the Main Sessions of Passion 2010 check out http://www.268generation.com/passion2010/ 

This makes my official debut into the blog world. I just needed to get this out. More to come on my reasons for falling into the trend of blogging.

We lift up our eyes, lift up our eyes, You’re the giver of life.

Leave a Reply

