When We are Most Satisfied in Him

Let me start off by saying, Passion was probably one of the best experiences of my life. If you let it, it could have definitely been life changing.

The worship, speakers, ways to get involved, community groups, everything was just amazing.

Andy Stanley’s talk was probably one of the most influential of all the presentations.

“It is always a mistake to decide what you want to do before you decide who you want to be”

I thought about that for a while. So many people say that they think that God is telling them to do this or calling them to do that or they want to change the world this way. That is great. But in order for that to be significant in anyway, you have to know who you are. I know I don’t want to be remembered just for being a great musician, or a great “insert profession here”.

Andy suggested going through the minds of people in your life writing down what you want said about you at your funeral. To me, that was a little crazy to think about. I’m not sure I’m completely comfortable with that one. Maybe I’ll just think about what I want them to think when they hear my name or something less vulgar. But I do think it is something to do to figure out who you want to be.

So many people say I want to be a “good” person. What does “good” even mean anymore? What are those standards? It means something different to everyone. When you define who you are it creates an invisible perimeter for your behavior. Something defined to stand on in every situation you find yourself in.

“Daniel showed that he could do the work better than the other supervisors and governors, so the king planned to put Daniel in charge of the whole kingdom. Because of this, the other supervisors and governors tried to find reasons to accuse Daniel about his work int he government. But they could not find anything wrong with him or any reason to accuse him, because he was trustworthy and not lazy or dishonest. Finally these men said, “We will never find any reason to accuse Daniel unless it is about the law of his God.” Daniel 6:3-5

Daniel lived exactly as he saw fit to follow God and was known for that. He was not just known for being the best at his job. He was known for his Godliness.

We were discussing what we took away from Passion on the way home form Atlanta and Michael said something that made me think. He said that if we are just following the Holy Spirit in the here and now we will do the things that glorify God. If that means sitting in a new classroom full of people you don’t know, how are you going to glorify God in that moment. Who you choose to be, puts in jeopardy how you handle these situations and if you follow the Holy Spirit.

Who am I going to be?

John Piper blew everyone’s mind. I’m not sure I am qualified to blog a single word about what he said. I’ll just throw up some of my notes and revisit my thoughts sometime when they are fully pulled together. I plan to read his essay on this again so I can be more direct with my thoughts.

The issue is: God is an Egomaniac. Worship, Love, Praise Me!

Not only you live for God’s glory but God lives for God’s glory.

We were made to stand on top of mountains and be stunned by majesty.

John 17:24 Magnify God’s glory in the capstone of our joy.

Romans 3:23 God put Christ forward to absorb his wrath against our belittling sin. This was to show God’s righteousness.

He vindicated His name and our forgiveness is secured.

The cross should remind us of God’s righteousness and passionate commitment to his glory not us.

In discussion about this, sin was brought up. Why would God allow sin to get in the way of His glory? I think it could be that sin, in a twisted way, makes us see that we are not strong enough to deal with it on our own. God needed sin to glorify Himself by loving us enough to save us from sin so that we can glorify Him by trying to understand why we need to worship, love, and praise Him when we are not worthy of Him at all.

God is the one being in the universe with whom self glorification is not a needy act of ego but an infinite expression of generosity.

God is most glorified when we are most satisfied in Him.

Wow. Those are all over the place and I don’t have the energy to go through everything and spell out my thoughts right now because it is 2:15 in the morning and today has been along day. BUT, there are some mind blowing ideas there that we should all think about.

I still can’t figure out why Hillsong United was some of the best worship I have EVER experienced. It was on another level of anything I have been a part of. Going back to the Holy Spirit thing, that seems like an easy answer for it. They are just following the Holy Spirit and going where ever it leads. Once again, they do it to give honor and praise to God. Not to receive anything in turn.

Not to say that none of that was paired with great talent and hard work. They are great musicians and phenomenal song writers. If I am ever half a musician/writer as they are, I’ll still be in a pretty great place.

And now after almost a thousand words I’ll say goodnight.

I love you people!

I will sing praise. I will sing praise. No weapons formed against me shall remain

Leave a Reply

