But seek first His kingdom

Haven’t posted the last few days. I feel like I’ve had lots to say, just never took the time to sit down and put it on this thing.

Something that has been lingering in my mind the past few days is Saturday. I talked in an earlier post about our college group really trying to get out there and make a difference. We wanted to start a ministry based off Matthew 25:40. Saturday was trial one. Four of us made 24 lunches and set out with about 10 to try and find hungry people. We were a little worried because we had not seen many people out that day. The first try was just a stop at a stop light, rolled the window down, gave him some food and a card about Milwood, didn’t really make much of a connection. But it was successful. He had food. The next guy we decided to do the one on one approach. Worked really well. Izak got out and started talking to him…then brought him over to the van to come talk to us. His name is Michael and he lives with his cat in a tent in a patch of trees in North Austin. He talked and talked and talked about his story and who he was, where he’s been. He was a veteran displaced from New Orleans after Katrina.  He kept telling us over and over “Thank You, You are beautiful”. I wish we could have given him more. We sat with him for probably half an hour. Prayed a few times and then left him to go back to his life. The other three guys we gave lunches to were pretty non-confrontational. Which is completely fine. At least we showed them some love.

Hearing Michael’s story made me so grateful to have all the things I do have. I think we often take for granted what God blesses us with and don’t thank him nearly enough.

Whether we gave out 5 or 24 lunches I think it was a success. I think ways to improve it would be trying a week day so that we could reach more people.

I’m still frustrated with finding a job. I’m ready for work. This whole not working thing is making me really uneasy and stressed out. Saturday I was reading through Matthew and came across this

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. There for do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:33

Story of my life. I’ve been so worried about getting a job that I have not given it to God to take care of. I’m trying to let go and put God in charge of it all. Where ever I find work is where God put me. Those people are being prepared for me to share His love and grace with them and He is preparing me to take on that challenge. It is a cycle like Beth Moore was talking about at Passion. He is always equipping us for what is coming by preparing, adjusting, reparing, and filling us to be emptied out again.

I’m off to an interview. Will probably post again later. Meeting with the college group tonight to talk about Salvation. Good conversation and coffee are two of my favorite things.

You are Savior, Messiah, Redeemer and Friend

Leave a Reply

